21/08/2017

SUTTON AND SONS FISH AND CHIPS, ISLINGTON


Last weekend, we had a full family day out in London which was really lovely. It started off with the sun shining and no rain made an appearance during the whole day. An utter shocker at the moment, because it seems to be raining non-stop!

I will always remain honest on my blog, as I would hate to recommend something if it hasn't lived up to my expectations. I wouldn't want a consumer to spend their hard earned money on something that isn't great. 

We was booked in to review a premium style fish and chips restaurant called Sutton and Sons. They have three different locations to choose from; Islington, Stoke Newington and Hackney Central. However, we chose the Islington branch as we know the area very well due to living there a number of years ago.

Being a huge breakfast person, I made the conscious decision to skip breakfast for lunch booked at 1pm at Sutton and Sons, so you can imagine how hungry I was!


Upon arrival, I am sad to say that the restaurant had no idea that I was there for a review and instead of sorting this out immediately to save embarrassment for the both of us; they didn't seem too bothered about the miscommunicated booking. 

I tried to explain to the waitress that I was there as a blogger and had booked this restaurant on X date with X person, but I was made to feel very silly because I was laughed at by the waitress. The waitress became very flustered and after waiting around; she then finally got in touch with her manager. She then informed us that the restaurant could only offer us complimentary drinks. It was then changed to drinks and starters - again not what was agreed in the first place. 

After 15-20 minutes of sitting down and trying to converse with the woman, I was about to give up trying to explain the situation, when she settled and agreed to what was agreed with beforehand. Finally!


We had completely lost our appetite and excitement by the time we was finally somewhat allowed to look at the menu. 

Putting that very embarrassing and awkward situation aside, I was tempted to try the crab on toast (£5.95), but ended up ordering the whitebait starter (£4.50). With an added squeeze of the lemon slice, these were actually really nice and the portion size was very generous. The batter surrounding the fish was perfect and not too oily. 

My mum went for the smoked haddock and cod fish cake (£4.95). These came on its own with a slice of lemon to garnish. She said it was very nice to eat and fried perfectly. She also commented that she could tell the fish tasted very fresh. 


I wasn't too sure what to order for main. The menu has quite a varied amount of different dishes you can order, so I was spoilt for choice. I was torn between the chicken and mushroom pie and cod goujons. I ended up choosing cod goujons and imagined these to be like the texture and look of chicken goujons.

Their version of cod goujons (£8.50) are just mini style battered cods. Somewhat deceiving, but the portion size was extremely generous. Sadly, I hardly ate the fish as the batter was really greasy and quite sickly tasting. It seemed that the ration of batter to fish was very outweighed, so these really let me down. However, the chips were very nice and were enjoyed a lot with a pot of mayonnaise. 


My mum ordered cod and chips (£10.50), which looked a lot more appealing than my own dish. She thoroughly enjoyed her meal and had no negative comments about the fish. It seemed her batter was a lot more cooked and less greasy than my own. 


It would have been nice to explore the dessert menu as I noticed they offer battered chocolate bars and Mrs Sutton's home made cakes. However, we didn't and was pretty full up anyway. 

Overall, my experience at Sutton and Sons was a bit of a mismatch. I think if the service had been better and I wasn't laughed at, then I'd say the food could have saved it - considering the food overall was nice. Maybe the other two branches are a bit better with their service. However, I won't be returning to this branch in particular. 

Disclaimer: A complimentary meal was offered in return for an honest review on my blog. All words and photographs are my own. 
SHARE:

77 comments

  1. I can't believe the service was so bad. Shame, as that would ruin my appetite as well and the feel of the entire experience. I am used to very high quality fish and chips, living next to the sea, and the sound of greasy batter doesn't appeal to me at all.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is such a shame Joanna. I had heard so many good things about the restaurant chain beforehand. You really can't beat proper seaside fish + chips though!

      Delete
  2. Oh what a shame :( service really is part and parcel of the whole experience and if it is bad then it can ruin everything. I can't believe they laughed at you :(

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was quite embarrassing, but hopefully they have learned something from this.

      Delete
  3. It's a shame you couldn't test out their desserts. I can't believe they treat you like that either, so rude!

    www.territalks.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It would have been lovely to try them, never mind!

      Delete
  4. What a shame, such a tricky situation to have been put in x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really was! I wasn't sure whether to just not review the place or be brutally honest. I figured honesty is the best policy!!

      Delete
  5. Oh.. not great PR. I've had service people not know about reviews that were previously set up before but everyone has always been really kind about it (it's still embarrassing to be pulling up emails at the coutner!)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't think it was down to the PR. Just very bad communication from the restaurant. Don't get me wrong, this has happened a few times before but they've always run around trying to fix the problem. However, this lady just wasn't bothered.
      x

      Delete
  6. I've eaten there before the food is lovely and the sticky toffee pudding is great! A shame they hadn't been made aware you were going though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am glad you had a good experience! Makes this situation a tiny bit better.

      Delete
  7. Oh dear, a bit of a disaster here! Such a shame that there was a mix up with your booking, although you certainly can't excuse the behaviour of the waitress, that's really not acceptable! I appreciate your honesty with this review!

    Abbey 🌸 www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is such a shame as it could have been a positive review. Never mind, eh xx

      Delete
  8. Oh what a shame about the service. Miscommunication or not, I'm sure it could have handled better by them. I think your review was very well balanced

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Tori. I just have to be honest about these things.

      Delete
  9. Such a shame about the service that must have made u feel uncomfortable. The food does look nice though

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was very uncomfortable to deal with!

      Delete
  10. Its ridicolous that they didn't even know that you were coming for a review. At least some of the food was good though x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was really bad, but you live and learn!

      Delete
  11. Oh no! This does sound like a disaster, how awkward!! The food looks amazing though to be fair!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, the food was okay but not enough for me to return or recommend.

      Delete
  12. The service doesn't sound good at all. I can't believe she laughed at you? I don't know if I could have been so patient, I would probably just have left.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was very tempting to leave and we almost did, but decided to stay as we had travelled an hour there.

      Delete
  13. What a horrible start to your meal and how very unprofessional :(
    It's such a shame because the food looks yummy - I would definitely try out one of their other venues.

    Dani x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, maybe their other venues are better. I don't know.

      Delete
  14. I have turned up at a restaurant before and there has been alack of communication and they've no idea I am supposed to review it. I always screenshot the email as proof now. Shame about the service but glad to hear the food was good

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eugh, so sorry this has happened to you before too! It's so unprofessional. I showed her emails but she didn't seem to be listening to me!

      Delete
  15. Oh dear, it all sounds a bit unorganised on their part. The food looks lovely but I can understand how the bad start would distract you from enjoying the food.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It definitely ruined the experience for me :(

      Delete
  16. I can't believe the waitress laughed at you, doesn't sound like a good experience as bad attitudes and service can ruin a meal x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely! So much so, I won't be returning x

      Delete
  17. Oh that's a shame. I hate it when there's been a mismatch in communication between the PR and the restaurant x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's really quite bad but a mistake that I hope they both learn from for next time x

      Delete
  18. woah appreciate the honest review girl, can't believe the service was so bad! x

    ReplyDelete
  19. The best restaurant reviews should be completed without the restaurant knowing, in my opinion. It's too bad however they didn't recognise the potential to really wow you since this review has been seen by quite a few people. I don't know if you can find decent fish & chips in London anymore. I used to go to a local place near Southfields station when I lived there. Their fish & chips were quite nice in 2001, not sure what it's like now however. Thanks for the review, I probably won't visit Sutton & Sons based on your honest opinion of the food and how you were treated.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep! It has been viewed by quite a lot of people, so it's a real shame but hopefully they learn about this for the next time they have a blogger or journalist in to review x

      Delete
  20. Good service is one of the criteria that customers are looking for in every restaurant. For me, even if the food is not that very special, if the service is good, I will definitely be back. Thanks for your very honest review. Might check this off on my restaurant to try list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I completely agree, Anosa. When you're paying for a meal, you expect fantastic service too. Even though I didn't pay and it was a review, I still expect fantastic service.

      Delete
  21. Blogger or not the waitress shouldn't have laughed at you. That's not very professional. We've walked past this chippy a couple of times before but are now hesitant on visiting. We can't see what separates this from our local chippy?!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So bad, isn't it?! To be honest, it's nothing special. I would say my local chippy is just as good.

      Delete
  22. The food looks nice but service is such a huge part of the experience which is a shame.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep! I won't be returning purely for the bad service x

      Delete
  23. Wow how rude, sorry to hear as a blogger that you were treated in that way, as clearly an agreement had been made. Such a shame as it deffo mars the experience :) x

    ReplyDelete
  24. Such a shame that there hadn't been good communication to let them know you were coming beforehand. Was it a PR you were dealing with or the restaurant directly? Still, the found sounds great and I bet the service would have been a lot better if the communication had been better.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was booked with a PR but I don't fault them because I had something else booked with them on the same day and nothing went wrong with that. I just think the restaurant manager maybe didn't let the waitress know or something. No idea, but something I hope they learn from!

      Delete
  25. Finding a really good fish and chip shop is really hard. And the fact that they laughed at you is horrendous!

    ReplyDelete
  26. this is always a fear and why i work alone , i think i would have been soo embaressed so i feel for you , the food does look lovely though

    ReplyDelete
  27. That was very rude of them to laugh at you and the embarrassment you felt on the miscommunicated booking. The food looks tasty but if the service was that bad how can you expect to enjoy it the fullest.

    ReplyDelete
  28. That's awful service, a customer should never be laughed at whether they are paying customers or reviews.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed - again, something I hope they don't do ever again.

      Delete
  29. What a shame you were treated like that. Your photos are great and the food sounds lovely (we are big fans of fish and chips, it's my son's favourite meal!) but all a bit overshadowed unfortunately.

    ReplyDelete
  30. The place and the food looks lovely, such a shame the service wasn't great! xo

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really is a massive shame as I had such high hopes!

      Delete
  31. That is such a shame and so awful that you had to experience that embarrassment in a restaurant. I once had a sort of similar thing happen to me - I arranged a blog review in a local restaurant with the manager and when I turned up the waitress, who didn't really have a clue what she was doing, said that only half of it was complimentary when it had been agreed that two meals would be complimentary etc etc. It really does take away from the experience, even when it is sorted out.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eugh, this another awkward situation! I don't think you can get a second chance at making a first impression. My opinion was already set in stone!

      Delete
  32. Oh no! Shame about the start and the greasy batter. The photos looks great of the food though and I would be happy to give them another chance!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm not sure I would give them another chance. I mean, the food was okay but I wouldn't travel an hour into London again that's for sure.

      Delete
  33. What a shame this all started off wrong from the beginning. To be honest I probably would have gone elsewhere and not bothered with then especially after your meal was so disappointing

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, I should have probably gone elsewhere, but I needed to see if the food could save the shoddy service.

      Delete
  34. That's a shame, I would
    Stick to fish and chip Fridays down the local fisheries

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I completely agree! Even though my local sometimes forget to bag my pie!

      Delete
  35. Wow that's crazy the food does look pretty good it really ruins a restaurant when the service sucks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am glad you agree Leslie. These places need to learn that service is very important.

      Delete
  36. Omg this happened to me once when I wrote for a local magazine in Manchester! So cringe but definitely a miscommunication between the PR and the restaurant, out of your hands.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. SO sorry this has happened to you too. Hopefully these places learn from these mistakes. x

      Delete
  37. I think with places to eat - regardless of how good the food is, the whole experience {in my eyes} really focus's around the customer service you receive. It's a shame it wasn't better in your experience.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I completely agree. After all, I did lose my appetite!

      Delete
  38. wow thats so rude of her! I'm glad it got sorted in the end and hopefully the other branches will be better.

    ReplyDelete
  39. I've got to say, I love a good fish and chip shop! However, this one doesn't sound very good at all. I'm so sorry to hear about the awful customer service you received. I think bad customer service can often leave a worse taste in your mouth than bad food!

    Louise x

    ReplyDelete
  40. It's such a ashame the batter was greasy and not enjoyable. That is the best thing about having fish. Sounds like a terrible time with the service as well. How disappointing.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for your comment! If you have any questions, leave them in the comments and I'll answer them!

Blogger Template Created by pipdig